[choosing to fight]

“There may be times when we are powerless to prevent injustice, but there must never be a time when we fail to protest.” – Elie Wiesel

img_0121I have never been accused of being a fighter. Ask anyone in my life, and you’ll get pretty much the same story. I grew up with fear being a close companion. I had no reason, my family was solid, and I knew security. Nevertheless, I lived day to day with fear sitting close to the surface, and because of that, I was very easily terrified at seemingly nothing. As I grew up, that fear manifested itself into different parts of my life, from fear of failure, to fear of the unknown. Because of this reality in my life, I very rarely took risks.

I also grew up being extremely frustrated with myself and my seemingly inability to just suck it up and deal with this sometimes debilitating fear. I have since come to understand that some of what I deal with are anxiety attacks. But at the time, I felt like I should have been able to just BE strong, get rid of the fear, and trust in my God. I felt inadequate, silly, childish, weak…etc. So I understand how it feels to not know what it means to fight, and fight hard for something. When you are so focused on the safe and secure, you’re often not willing to stick your neck out for anything. This has been a journey for me, and I’ve already written about this a bit here.

The problem is, you and me, we have a voice. We have platforms to speak. We have friends and family. There are people all around us that dream of the freedom to speak. There are people all around us who are living a nightmare where trafficking and exploitation are the norm. In their case, it’s not a matter of the choice to speak. They can’t use their voices to protest. That means its not only important, but it’s our responsibility to cry out all the louder against this injustice. Last year, during Dressember, I wrote this: “Don’t be afraid to fight for what you’re passionate about, to fight for these people who need advocates. Please.”

I stand by that statement, but I want to add to it. If you ARE afraid, fight anyway. Make the choice to get up every time fear rears it’s debilitating, ugly head. Make the choice to, however much you tremble and shake, stand. That is true courage. Making the choice to fight, even when you’re afraid. Choosing to stubbornly trust in God’s ability to hold you up, even when your knees are shaking.

I am choosing to fight. Join hands with me, let’s strengthen each other in this.

Prayer/Challenge: Please, please, please pray for those exploited in this world. Please, if you don’t know much about human trafficking, please look into it. Check the links below as a start for some information. And PLEASE, if you are able, donate to this Dressember campaign. Every little bit helps.

Everyday during the month of December, I am wearing a dress to raise money and support for the fight against exploitation and trafficking. Please consider donating here. More information is in the links below.

http://www.dressember.org/mission/ 

https://www.ijm.org/

http://www.a21.org/index.php 

Leave a Reply

