Day 13: Christmas Wish

I’ve been pretty introspective  over the past couple of weeks. I don’t know about you guys, but the introvert in me needs time sometimes to process in order to grow and change. I find that some of the best ‘eureka’ moments about myself or about those around me have happened by myself, at the most with one other person, just spending time quietly in prayer, talking through things, and just generally reflecting.

It’s funny, even though I’ve been blogging about Christmas for almost two weeks now, I’ve been having a hard time remembering that Christmas is so close. Normally, I start listening to Christmas carols in mid-late November and have watched at least one Christmas movie by the first week of December. I remember loving gathering as a family, sitting around the advent wreath, reading the Christmas story, praying for others as a family. I’ve been so incredibly blessed by a family that took Christmas seriously, the true meaning of Christmas. I’ve missed this the past couple of years as I’ve been at University in the months leading up to Christmas, and I’m realizing that I need to make Christmas my own, and make time for what’s important, instead of being so incredibly busy and distracted.

So that’s my wish this Christmas, that we would focus on what’s important and make Christmas about Christ, slowing down and making time for others. I’ve started the process with hundreds of other men and women around the world doing Dressember this month, and I’m on the hunt for more ways to bless others and also take the time relearning the amazing true story of Christ’s birth and life.

Prayer: I challenge you to spend some time with me in prayer this Christmas, instead of being so distracted by the business of the season, either by work, or by school, family…etc. Focus on the truth, and allow yourself to be awestruck by Christ’s miraculous birth. Because at the end of the day, I think that’s what’s pretty important.

IMG_8805

 

Everyday during the month of December, I am wearing a dress to raise money and support for the fight against exploitation and trafficking. Please consider donating here. More information is in the links below.

http://www.dressember.org/mission/  | https://www.ijm.org/ | http://www.a21.org/index.php 

Leave a Reply

