Day 9: Prayer

I’m having the hardest time trying to put into words what I’m thinking through right now, so bear with me as I ramble a bit. I’ve been learning a lot over this past year of the importance and power of prayer. I hear about prayer a lot in church and you read about it, but often, I’m sad to say, my prayer has consisted of praying for something or someone once and then being done. I’m learning that God doesn’t want us to politely knock on the door and say “pardon me, but would you mind terribly helping me out with this? I won’t bother you again.” I’m learning that God loves spending time in conversation with us, even when we’re praying in frustration or anger. We need to spend time repeatedly, doing battle in prayer. I’m so used to praying for change with the thought that if I don’t see an answer, it must not be God’s will. But I haven’t really prayed with purpose and faith then, either. I’ve noticed lately that I’ve been getting spiritually attacked in a number of different ways, and it just hit me tonight that I haven’t been spending much time fervently on my knees, asking for support and praising my Lord and King.

I love Ephesians 6 where it talks about the armor of God. I’ve had a couple of very real moments in my life where those verses were my lifeline, helping me to consciously protect myself from some of the lies that I was surrounded by. And I love verse 18 that says “praying at all times in the Spirit, with all prayer and supplication. To that end keep alert with all perseverance.” We are supposed to persevere and pray with persistence? I’m just learning what that looks like, but for me, those moments of prayer in my life have been the coolest because I get to spend that time with my King and see him in action, and be a part of it all.

I’m really thankful for this reminder right now during this campaign that I’m participating in. It’s been a little bit disappointing that I haven’t had anyone support ‘me’ in this campaign, and it can feel like I’m not really making a contribution to the fight against the exploitation and trafficking of women. But I’m being reminded often this week, that I can do battle on my knees for these women. That we have been given power through the Holy Spirit that I have seen in action through prayer. It’s because of this that I refuse to take prayer lightly again.

Question/Prayer: How do you approach prayer? Is it a real conversation? Do you pray, really and truly believing that your prayers are heard and will change things? I would challenge you to think about this, and please take time to pray often for people all over this world that are being trafficked and exploited. Let’s shut this industry down!

IMG_1588

 

Everyday during the month of December, I am wearing a dress to raise money and support for the fight against exploitation and trafficking. Please consider donating here. More information is in the links below.

http://www.dressember.org/mission/ 

https://www.ijm.org/

http://www.a21.org/index.php 

Leave a Reply

