Day 7: Dressember Update

IMG_1574Hi again! Today, I’ve been looking at some of my fellow dressember-ers’ posts about the campaign and praying for each person involved in the fight against exploitation, either by participating in the Dressember campaign, or by donating, or by working to set those enslaved free once and for all. I pray that each person reading this will take the time to read a bit about the realities of human trafficking and understand that it’s happening in each of our cities all around the world. It breaks my heart, but I know that it happens here in my city, and that’s why I’m doing what I can in this very small way. I’m not even going to pretend that I know the answers to end this horrible industry, but I do know that if each of us were to do what we can, no matter how seemingly small, we would see a great difference.

I’ve talked to people recently who have told me that they’re ‘tired’ of hearing about human trafficking, that it’s a fad and there are more issues in the world besides this. While I agree that we have lot’s going on around us that we can fight against, I would argue that we should never be ashamed to SHOUT in this fight against the trafficking of human beings. Don’t be afraid to fight for what you’re passionate about, to fight for these people who need advocates. Please.

I love knowing that even though I can’t currently travel the world physically setting these people free, I can pray. I’ve learned the power of
prayer this past year. It really does make a difference. Plus, how cool is it to know that God will never leave them alone? I can’t be there, but He is! He loves these precious men and women unconditionally and his heart breaks for their pain.

Challenge/Prayer: Please, please, please pray for those exploited in this world. Please, if you don’t know much about human trafficking, please look into it. Check the links below as a start for some information. And PLEASE, if you are able, donate to this Dressember campaign. Every little bit helps.

Everyday during the month of December, I am wearing a dress to raise money and support for the fight against exploitation and trafficking. Please consider donating here. More information is in the links below.

http://www.dressember.org/mission/ 

https://www.ijm.org/

http://www.a21.org/index.php 

 

One thought on “Day 7: Dressember Update

  1. Pingback: [choosing to fight] | Words and Wonderings

Leave a Reply

