Day 6: Sankt Nikolaus Tag

IMG_1541

So, my one side of the family is German, and I love being a part of the German Christmas tradition. This is one of my favorites. So, in German tradition, people put their boots outside the door on the night of December 5th, and  Sankt Nikolaus, or St. Nicholas comes and leaves treats and goodies in your boots overnight. December 6th is Sankt Nikolaus Tag in Germany, and my german family celebrates it every year. It’s so much fun to come out your door and see something there. Traditionally, if kids were good, they get treats, if kids weren’t good, they’d get coal, or a stick in their boot. I kind of like having this day so far from Christmas, partly because it spreads out some of the fun, but also because it make Christmas Day more about Christ, which I find way more special.

Apparently, when my parents were engaged, my mom was staying with my dad’s family during December. And she was told by my dads little brother to put her boot out the door. Of course, she wasn’t sure about it, felt like it may be only for kids, or the family, so she didn’t put anything outside the door. The next morning, she opened her door, and my grandma had found a pair of her boots, plunked them outside the door, and filled with them with all sorts of goodies. Needless to say, it’s a well-treasured family tradition that I hope to pass on to my future family as well.

Do you guys have anything like this from different cultures that you celebrate every year? Anybody else leave their boots outside the door on December 5th?

IMG_1554

Everyday during the month of December, I am wearing a dress to raise money and support for the fight against exploitation and trafficking. Please consider donating here. More information is in the links below.

http://www.dressember.org/mission/ 

https://www.ijm.org/

http://www.a21.org/index.php 

Leave a Reply

