Highly Favored…

“I found a piece of scripture that says, ‘God found her highly favored’… I like that. I want God to think of me that way.”

I love the Skit Guys. Because they’re so funny, and yet, almost always, there’s a line or two that make me really stop and think.  The few times that I’ve been honored to be a part of a skit that’s written by them, it has been so meaningful to me. Because without fail, I die laughing, but there’s always a part that seems to be written right to me.

In the past couple of weeks, I’ve once again felt an extreme pressure to find the answers to what I’m doing with my life, what my future is going to look like, and what major I should be in to get there. And, true to form, my response has been to be incredibly stressed out about it, and hide from the responsibility. My escape has often been in the form of a book or a movie. This has been a trend throughout my life. These stories are my escape. My family can attest to the fact that when I read a book, I will completely shut off from the world around me. I don’t hear anything, or see anything. I truly become a character in the story that I’m reading.

When I avoid my problems like this, I feel really bad about myself. I feel like I don’t accomplish anything, and I’m being super lazy and unproductive. And the more I feel this way, the more I feel like giving up. I think I’ve lived a lot of life assuming that things will just figure themselves out. But life doesn’t work that way. And I’m learning that.

I know that I need to make sure that I’m filling my mind and life with truth, focusing on serving and following Christ. This skit hit me. I’ve read these words and identified with them before. But they once again hit me tonight. I want God to think that way of me. I want him to be proud of my choices. That should be my ultimate goal.

Leave a Reply

