Right now…

“I just want to be what you want me to be. I just want a heart that’s true, a heart like you” : Heart Like You | Love & the Outcome

I just came from a concert that I got to go to with my sister, and I can’t describe how much I really needed to hear the words that I heard sung from that stage tonight. It’s amazing to me when you go to concerts and they’re all about the show, and showing off. And it makes SUCH a difference when the artists on stage are singing first and foremost because they love Christ and want to share His truth with others, and they love doing music with an audience. Tonight, I got to see a band that is made up of a young couple, who are so real and grounded. I think in the Christian music scene, there’s so much fluff out there, and it makes such a difference when there’s songs that are hard-hitting, and speak solid truth that encourages, and convicts and strengthens. I am so thankful that I was in that room tonight, because I really needed to hear the words, I needed the reminder.

“All by myself I fall to pieces
But You are strong when I am weakest
I feel Your kingdom come alive in me
My feet are bruised but they’ll follow where You lead

You are bigger than any battle I’m facing
You are better than anything I’ve been chasing
Savior and royalty, the only hope in me
Jesus, You are, You are
The King of my heart, heart
The King of my heart, heart”

I could elaborate a lot and talk all about the millions of things that I’ve been thinking, stressing, worrying and obsessing about and generally not handling it right. I’m not sure what my path is right now in life, I’m not sure if big change is coming soon, I don’t know what I’m going to end up doing career-wise… but it’s really not worth dwelling on. I need to worry about right now, and make sure that I’m following where Christ is leading. That’s it.

So, Jodi and Chris… if you ever read this, thank you. Thanks for coming to Calgary, and for speaking truth in your lyrics. Thank you for not following the mainstream fluff that usually fills the radio. Please continue to follow Christ even when it’s tough (as I know it has been). You’ve been super encouraging to me, and I know that many others felt the same tonight. I so appreciate you both and your music!

I’d strongly encourage anyone reading this to check out ‘Love & the Outcome.’ And really listen to the words. 🙂 http://www.loveandtheoutcome.com/about

Prayer: That I’d seek WHOLEHEARTEDLY after Christ and leave the rest up to him, trusting that He’s got it, and I don’t need all the answers right now.

Leave a Reply

