Advent, Dressember, and Craziness

Well hello again! 🙂 Some of you might be wondering why on earth I’m writing again, when I just wrote a post yesterday and my record before that has been a post every 2-3 months or so. But, I have some exciting things to share! So while I sit here watching a Christmas Celtic Thunder special with my grandfather, I’m going to share them with you all.

1. It’s officially the Advent season. Now, I love almost everything about the Christmas season, but the season of Advent is something that is super special to me. First and foremost because it puts so much into perspective as we celebrate Christ’s birth, and allows us to celebrate for much longer than the one day. But the Advent season has always held such amazing memories and meaning on a personal level. For as long as I can remember, Advent meant that my dad would go scavenging for evergreen branches in order to make a wreath that then sits in a prominent place in our living room with it’s four tall candles that get lit, counting down the weeks of December. I remember sitting together as a little girl with her family at least once a week, but often more than that, singing a mixture of English and German carols (yes, Silent Night was sung in German), and reading Christmas stories, including parts of THE Christmas story in the Bible. It was a time, when our little German candle fan would ring the bells merrily while it made the coolest shadows and patterns on the ceiling, and our Christmas tree was lit so beautifully. I love this time of year so much!

2. It’s DRESSEMBER! I’m super excited to take part in this amazing fundraiser this month. For those of you who don’t know what this means, I’ll include this link that explains all about the campaign, and why it’s important. https://support.dressemberfoundation.org/fundraise?fcid=379852 Basically, I will be wearing a dress everyday this month to raise awareness and support for International Justice Mission’s work fighting against human trafficking. I believe in IJM, the organization that is behind this campaign, because there are so many women out there who are trafficked and held against their will. Please take the time to check out this page, and if you can donate, that would be incredible. You can see my information there. I’m going to try my absolute hardest to update the page everyday with a picture of that day’s dress. I’m working currently with 3 or 4 dresses that I’m going to try to style different ways, so that should be interesting.

IMG_0277

Day One! 🙂

Life is crazy right now. This week is technically the last week of classes, which means this is when everything is due. yay. And then start the finals. But only a few more weeks until it’s all over.

I’m so thankful for all of the encouragement that you all have poured into me these past couple of weeks.

Prayer: For all students as we finish off the semester. That we would finish strong, giving it everything we’ve got. 🙂

Leave a Reply

