All the good things…

I know it’s been a while. I took a bit of a break from blogging, just because I needed to spend time with my family, rest and reboot for the next year. Plus I was working at least 40 hours a week… so that kinda played into it as well. Anywho, now that the explanations and excuses are out of the way… can we get on with the real reason I’m writing again? WE CAN?!?! ok, thanks! 

I’m back in the ‘True North, Strong and Free’… translation: I’m back in Canada, getting ready for another year, my sophomore year at University. Now, I want to stop you all right there. No, I do not have it all together, nor am I super confident in my return to the school. In fact, I feel like I’m kinda starting over. When I arrived here a year ago, I lived on campus, and took the train to visit my grandparents and sister every other week or so. This year, I’m living with my grandparents, and potentially taking the train to school and back again. This time around, I have a car, which makes it really nice for me, a person who is dying to explore this part of Alberta, especially in the Rockies. Another change is that a lot of my friends from school moved off campus this year as well, or even transferred. All in all, I feel a little bit like I don’t know what I’m doing. 

It also doesn’t help that I’ve been that super emotional girl who just cries at the thought of saying goodbye this past week. And that kinda bugs me, because, while I’m a bit of a homebody, I’m the one who never got homesick, who was sad to say goodbye, but then got over it because a new adventure was ahead of her. So, for those of you that I’ve cried to, I’m so sorry and thank you so much for your encouragement and hugs as I tried to pull myself together.

Needless to say, it’s been really important for me to work on my attitude of thankfulness and joy, even in the midst of something that’s been pretty uncertain in my life. I was just nominated by my friend Bethany to write about three good things in my life. And rather than write a list on Facebook, I thought it would be better to talk about it here.

1. I’m super thankful for my family. Even if there are struggles, we’ve got each other’s backs. I’m so blessed to have the amazing support system that I do in my family.

2. My friends. I was that little girl who would read about best friends and wish for that type of friendship for myself. And amazingly, when my family moved to Hershey, I met some amazing people. And even though some of them have moved, or we’ve drifted apart over the years, I have amazing memories. And most of my friends are ones that are tried and true. We’re absolutely crazy, and we’ve been through a lot of messiness and overall ‘crap’ together, but I know that these are friendships that will last forever. Even if we get out of touch, whenever we see each other again, it’s like we’ve never left.

3. Crazy opportunities: I often look at other people’s lives and think they’re more exciting than mine. But honestly, how many people can say that they have citizenship in three countries, have lived and worked in two, have gotten the opportunity to intern and travel with an incredible missions organization, and have friends that live all over the world? I gotta stop with the ‘grass is greener stuff’ and remember that I’ve gotten to do some pretty cool stuff as well.

I hope to blog more this year, and continue to be vulnerable about the things that I am learning as well as the things that God is bringing to my attention. Also, just stories from my overall experiences.

Prayer: As we all go back to school, if you could just pray for the students. It’s kinda cliche to say this, but it is kinda scary to return to this type of setting each year, especially for me as I’m still a little on the fence about what I’m actually doing with my life. 🙂 

Leave a Reply

