New start…

Well, after a great Christmas break… I’m back. I’ve had a couple of people ask me how I’m feeling returning to school. It’s weird, but I’m really indifferent. I don’t dread it, but I didn’t really miss it when I was in the States, and I don’t really feel super excited about it at this point either. That being said, I have been doing a whole lot of thinking and praying about this semester.

It’s a new year and a new semester. And while I don’t think it’s smart to make a lot of empty promises, I do feel like a new start gives a lot of opportunities for change. Over this semester, I’ve made an effort to get to know a few people, and get outside of my comfort zone. I even volunteered for the Ambrose Open House and that led to me interviewing for and getting a position as a Student Ambassador at the school. So God has definitely been working these past couple of months. But at the same time, I’m not super happy with where I am right now.

In many ways, I’ve let myself become complacent and be ok with mediocre in my studies, and my faith walk and journey. I want to use this new start to really focus on what’s important. I’m not making any resolutions, and I know that I’ll mess up some along the way, but I want to move forward with these goals in mind. Otherwise, I’m not going to get anywhere. 🙂

As I was praying and journaling yesterday, a song popped into my head by Jeremy Camp called “Give me Jesus.” Look it up, especially the chorus. It’s really simple, but powerful. It was a great reminder that at the end of the day, my focus needs to be solely on Christ and nothing else.

 

Prayer: I would encourage you to pray about how you will approach your new start, not by making a bunch of promises, but by evaluating where it is that you want to be.

 

Have a great New Year Everybody!

Leave a Reply

