Turn the other cheek?

So, today I was talking to my friend on staff here in NOLA about turning the other cheek. What does that really mean?

Lamentations 3:30 – “Let them turn the other cheek to those who strike them and accept the insults of their enemies. For no one is abandoned by the Lord forever.” NLT

Now, to me, this says that when somebody is insulting me, I should not respond. I should allow them to say whatever because I know the truth in my Savior, Jesus Christ. BUT… then what about self defense. Does this mean we should let people walk all over us? Does this mean if we are attacked we should not defend ourselves?

My friend said that we should turn the other cheek if it’s for God’s glory, meaning that if it’s bashing on my faith, or persecution because of my faith, I should not respond. But if it’s petty stuff, don’t respond in kind, but make it clear that you do not deserve to be treated that way, nor will you stand there and just take it.

I guess that’s another factor. If you respond, how? When somebody’s insulting you, should we respond defensively? Or should it always be respectful, not belittling the other person, but making it clear where you stand?

Honestly, this is something I’m not sure I know where I stand on… I can see both examples in the Bible. So if any of you have opinions, I’d love to hear them. Just something to think about and be studying on.

Prayer requests: That I would be an encouragement and a blessing to those around me this last week. Also, we have a staff member who’s injured himself and is in a lot of pain. Please pray for healing.

Leave a Reply

