There is a time…

“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven… so I saw that there is nothing better for a man than to enjoy his work, because that is his lot. For who can bring him to see what will happen after him?” Ecclesiastes 2:1,22
 
As I was reading this today, it hit me: We should work hard, enjoy the work that God has given us and then move on, knowing that our salvation is not in works but in the gift of Jesus Christ.
 
Now all of you are going… yeah, no way, Anna… šŸ™‚  What I mean is, it’s really important to find the balance, prayerfully, between focusing on “doing” and following. The team leader from this last week said something today that I really liked: “I wanna find the difference and focus more on BEING a servant rather than going TO serve.” Because when you go to serve, you often have your own agenda, your own plan about what you’re going to get DONE, rather than being a servant and asking what is needed and being willing to do whatever someone asks of you to bring God glory. It’s not important what we’ve done, because we won’t be around to see the fruit of all that we might have done.
 
But, also, along with this, I’ve been realizing that there is a time for certain things in your life. And one of those times has ended for me… that’s the time to be a kid, dependent on others for everything and told what to do and how to go about it in every aspect of my life. Coming to New Orleans was one of the first times that I’ve been on my own and needing to make decisions truly on my own. I’m going to Canada for college, and I’m actually really excited to explore and study and grow. My mom said something to me a few months ago: ” This is a time for you to make your faith your own, make your own decisions and fly!” I’m nervous about the responsibility,  but I’m excited about the possibility too.
 
Prayer Requests: That as I continue after NOLA and head off to college, God will guide my steps in this new time in my life. Pray that I will be focused on being a servant and on realizing that it’s time to move on to new things in my life!
Leave a Reply

