So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Goodbye…

Everybody’s leaving me! This is NOT ok… I came here for the entire summer, expecting it to be hard to create relationships with people and then God had to go and be all amazing and give me some amazing relationships here in NOLA and then, of course, they all leave before I do.

I’ve realized something these past couple of weeks… I’d rather do the leaving than be the one left. Two of my room mates are gone now, a lot of staff are leaving this week for vacation and support raising… It’s not fun!!!

This week, I’ve been struggling with the fact that a lot of these people will be returning in a little while to continue on with the work here, whereas I’m short term staff, and I realistically have no idea when or even if I’ll be back, even just to visit. Everyone here keeps saying “you’re leaving… only for now. But you’ll be back. You fit here…” But I honestly don’t know. God’s just going to have to make it happen. Which I guess is the way it always is.

Leaving and wondering when I’ll see some of these people again has been hard because these are people who have become extremely important to me and I care deeply about them. I don’t want to leave and have them only remember me as “that one intern that came a few years ago, what was her name again??” But I’ve realized one thing: Some people will forget. That’s just the way it is. But that doesn’t diminish the impact that they had on my life and the memories that we made together. And the cool thing is… there are going to be a couple of people who don’t forget and who keep in touch. And I’m so excited to see what life looks like for them down the road as God leads and guides them!

So, I’m in a weird state right now where I’m getting a little homesick for my family and friends in PA and I’m ready to head home, but I’m already missing this place in a strange way. I’m missing the people and the memories and the laughs and the goofiness and the craziness that has been my summer. But I guess that’s a good place to be. I wouldn’t go back and change it for anything. And I’m really excited about the adventures to come.

Prayer Requests: That I’ll finish out this week and half strong and be a blessing to the remaining people here while I can.

  

2 thoughts on “So Long, Farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, Goodbye…

  1. There is a saying: “To get something you never had, you have to do something you never did.” And you certainly did step out. What wonderful memories. Who knows where you’ll go from here –
    life is a challenge sometimes, other times great rewards. So, you go girl, your next step is college.
    lots of Love G-ma

  2. Girl! i’ve been thinking about you, and the girls, and all the amazing things we shared and lived together… i miss you all… my heart feels a little bit of pain… but I was just thinking that is the good kind of pain… the kind of pain you feel in your muscles after using them in a new way… and I really think my heart is bigger now and I thank God for that… and i’m already praying… so He has a new project for us to do together… whenever that is…
    🙂
    Don’t forget to send me your address when you have it… cause I already have a few things to send you!

Leave a Reply

