Fasting…

So some of the staff and I will be fasting this week. We’ve all decided something that we want to fast from, something that will be difficult or that needs to be taken a break from, or adding something to our daily routine for a week. So, I’ve decided to blog every day, and give up desserts, and any TV (including Netflix) for a week.

I surprised myself… and not in a good way! I actually don’t fast a lot, in fact I’ve probably only done it 2 or 3 times. I remember my family trying to do it together when I was a young “tyke” 🙂 and I thought it was the hardest thing ever to not eat until dinner time. I’ve probably never consciously made the decision to fast from something on my own, it’s always been “strongly” suggested. So when I decided to join the people on staff doing it this week, I thought it would be pretty easy to decide what it is that I spend a lot of time on that I should take a break from. And I couldn’t think of something, and then when I did, I couldn’t make up my mind. I could always come up with some excuse of why I’d need to use Facebook or something like that.

I’m… well kinda frustrated with myself. Fasting is not supposed to be easy. I’m not trying to live life in a way that will make it easy. That’s not the goal. But, today I was so caught up in wanting to “do” fasting, but not actually getting the point of the whole exercise: to get rid of something that might be distracting me from focusing my entire life, heart and mind on Jesus Christ and on following Him and bringing Him glory. I don’t want to be so focused on the actual task but on the whole reason behind it. I was talking with one of my friends the other day and she was talking about how she doesn’t always follow the actual rules put in place for her, but tries to only follow the “spirit” of the rule. While I’m not sure I agree with her in all circumstances, I think it’s also easy to get caught up in the rigidity and legality of everything and forget the reason behind the ruling.

 

I guess what I’m saying is that I often get stuck up on trying to “do” what needs to be done, what I should be doing, something that will help the situation rather than spending time with my Savior and God, asking Him what I should be working towards. I need to work on my mindset and attitude in that way, I think.

So, my challenge to you is to be praying and asking God what it is that is distracting you from Him. If you want to join me in fasting, that would be awesome! I’d love to hear about it, and I’d love to be praying with you as you do so!

Prayer request: That God would continue to humble me and teach me His ways. Pray that I would be faithful in my fast and that God would use this time to teach me and get a hold of me in a whole new way!

   

Leave a Reply

