Life in the South…

Well, I’m here! Crazyness! Honestly if you had told me a year ago that this was where I’d be for my summer I’d have laughed in your face. It’s amazing to see what God does. His ways are definitely not my ways and thankfully He made sure that I’d be exactly where I needed to be. I’ve been here in NOLA for about 2 days now and I just can’t get over this incredible feeling of peace and just… rightness. I’m exactly where I need to be right now and God has been making that abundantly clear.

I’m absolutely loving the culture down here. Everybody, including someone you just met, is treated with respect. For example, on Monday, we went into the city and visited some of the work sites and talked to people. One of the home owners was so fun to meet and to talk to. He called all of us Brother So and So and Sister Someone. Being called Sister Anna by a stranger is so different from what I’m used to. But I absolutely love it! I love that everybody is miss or sir or maam. That’s great! 🙂

When we were in the city, we were mainly in what’s called the Lower 9th Ward which is one of the areas with the most poverty and problems. In this small area of the city alone, there were over 1,000 deaths from “the Storm” which is what everyone here calls Katrina. Already, I’ve heard countless stories about how high the water was, how people had to stay on their roofs for days, how some people went up to their attics and were trying to pound a hole through the ceiling when the water rose super high. And yet so many of these people are saying things like “we have everything to be thankful for.” They are so strong. These are fighters who are willing to work on a house and come back after 8 years since the storm. It absolutely amazes me.

 

God is doing amazing things in NOLA! Praise Him!

Anna

Prayer: That I would be able to continue to get out of my comfort zone and talk to people I don’t know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

